Magic exist

I believe in magic… and miracles :)

3. Focal Length & Sensor Latitude

Leave a comment


Aim: To understand & apply basic on-camera techniques –focal length & sensor latitude

Focal length:

Perspective (1 photo)

perspective

f6.3, 1/5, ISO100, 17mm

Comments: This was a photo taken secretly from the MRT train, there were not much crowd, but I heard we are not supposed to take photos inside. So I stupidly tried to take photos and in the end, when I happily exit, I found tha the photos were all blurred and under expose. (P.S. Not used to the camera at that time)

What I wanted to show was the curve turn on the train when it was moving. Many people do not know that the train is actually doing turns in the underground just like how cars turn at traffic points. You are able to notice the turns only if you look around you and see how the long trail of people moving left and right without even moving.
 
Close up (1 photo)

closeup

f6.3, 1/5, ISO100, 85mm

Comments: This photo was taken during the Gundam festival at Compasspoint. I wasn’t a fan of Gundam, but with the deadline approaching, anything is fun and nice…

Zoom shot (1 photo)

zoom

f6.3, 1/5, ISO100, 68mm

Comments: I took this from the second floor of Compasspoint at the Gundam fair. I thought it was a pretty cool pic until I realise that we have to take note of the links and any curvature of the zoom lines will show if we shake during the take.
Sensor Latitude:

High Key (1 photo)

highkey

f5.6, 1/15, ISO100, 41mm

Low Key (1 photo)

lowkey

f6.3, 1/5, ISO100, 17mm

Comments: These pictures were taken from The Paragon when I went for my lasik checkup. There was an jewellery exhibition in the wide open space by this China artist. I thought it was pretty cool to use ducks, or mandarin ducks as manequins for jewelleries.
However, the exhibition was held in low light area and I though initially that Low Key = dark pictures but still can see, High Key picture means very ‘brightly’ lit photos. But of course, that’s not all. So I failed the requirement of the photos.
The High Key photo has a light box behind, which was why one can see thru the glass ducks.
The Low Key photo was a stand with lotus sewn on, I think it’s the olden day type of screen cover for the ladies to change etc. Chinese is called 屏风.

Author: Tiffany Yong

The ABC Girl (Actor, Blogger, Consultant) in Singapore!

Leave a Reply

