Magic exist

I believe in magic… and miracles :)

1a. Portfolio Website Research

1 Comment


 

I was wondering what kind of portfolio website will I want and suit me best when I was researching for inspiration. In the end, I found a long list of cool designs where I will choose 3 types and come out with three different sketches of my website.

Stand-alone unique design:

http://www.acceptjoel.com/

Something I Like and may adapt: I like the way the web designer integrate the menu into his ‘steps’. This is a simple design, yet unique, which I may wanna adapt and work on.
Rating: ****

http://www.sitotis.hr/index.htm

Something I Like and may adapt: I always have a thing for notebook/ organiser-like website, but I realise that this is quite a common concept, and I will most probably not use it!
Rating: **

http://www.matrizcomunicacao.com.br

Something I Like and may adapt: I like the 3-dimensional effect of this website. Although the menu button are below, I could actually make the ‘decorations’ and ‘shelves’ be one of the buttons etc. This “in-a-room” effect is something I would like to try out. The picture of the kid by the cot actually changes when user clicks to go other pages, so I can try putting my own photos inside for personalization?
Rating: *****

Accept Joel Sitotis Matriz
Typography San-Serif and Serif
4-5 type of fonts
Serif
2 type of fonts
San-Serif
1-2 type of fonts
Color Scheme Comic, Informal Notepad, Semi-formal Warm, Informal
Layout 1 column 2 column 2 column
Grouping and Hierarchy Yes Yes Yes
Figure and Ground Good Separation Good Separation Good Separation
Composition Rule of Third

 

http://jobs.webdesignerwall.com/

Something I Like and may adapt: This is a simple design similar to that of the organiser. I like the background design, and the complementary designs on the ‘paper’ which is elegant yet unique. However, this website is no longer functional.
Rating: ***

http://www.simpleart.com.ua/en/

Something I Like and may adapt: This website is so cool! Everything was portrayed from the top view of a working desk, but it won’t be easy to design something like that… hmmm… unless I can think of a simpler idea… KIV
Rating: *****

http://www.organicsupermarket.ie/

Something I Like and may adapt: This flash click shows cut-outs of people shopping for organic goods. I like the way it is purposely made to look like cut-outs and I thought it will be a good idea to have something like that in my website, and people can click on these figures to enter a particular page of my website.
Rating: *****

Jobs on Wall Simpleart Organic
Typography Serif
3-4 type of fonts
San-Serif
4 type of fonts
San-Serif
2 type of fonts
Color Scheme School, informal Cool, Semi-formal Warm, Informal
Layout 1 column 4 column 3 column
Grouping and Hierarchy Yes Yes Yes
Figure and Ground Good Separation Good Separation Good Separation
Composition Rule of Third

 

Cool concepts:

http://www.quadrifogliorosso.com/#home (downward scrolling -continuity)

Something I Like and may adapt: This website separates 3 sections of the website by using the theme of space, land, sea. Though the division is rather abrupt but the idea was quite good.
Rating: ***

http://www.artcore-illustrations.de/ (side-scrolling)

Something I Like and may adapt: I was quite amazed by this website as it operates via side-scrolling, and it makes me wonder how does Mac-mouse users navigate the website (as Mac-mouse doesn’t have the rollers for scrolling). Also, the picture is linked by the lines, hinting users that there are more information by the side. The top menu uses the shapes of clouds and sun, which I felt was clever as they were the only things that remain in the same position. Thus the movement of the website makes it look like they were clouds moving past the page.

I would like to try this concept if possible.

Rating: *****

http://jeannieweb.com/ (beach theme, downward scrolling-continuity)

Something I Like and may adapt: The transition of this website theme is much smoother, with the sky, the beach and the underwater world. I like the illustrator graphics and perhaps I can work on something like that.
Rating: ****

http://www.morphix.si/#home

Something I Like and may adapt: This is another example of a website that uses 3 main design themes- sky, land (field) and soil as their content division. The graphics is much better than the first design, and more detailed that the second one.
Rating: ****

Rosso/Morphix Artcore Jeannieweb
Typography San-Serif and Serif
3-4 type of fonts
San-Serif and Serif
2 type of fonts
San-Serif
3 type of fonts
Color Scheme Cool and warm, informal Warm, informal Cool, Informal
Layout 1-2 column 2 column 1-2 column
Grouping and Hierarchy Yes Yes Yes
Figure and Ground Good Separation Good Separation Good Separation
Composition Rule of Third Rule of Third

 

Websites with nice headers/ menu buttons (hand-drawn effect)

http://www.sarahhyland.com/

Something I Like and may adapt: I like the doodle-like drawings as the menu buttons, and the picture will give user a pleasant surprise when there’s a mouse-over. It provides additional expressions and information which made the website unique.
Rating: ****

http://www.njwebdesign.co.za/

Something I Like and may adapt: This is a different version of a graffiti-menu which I like.
Rating: ****

http://www.redvelvetart.com/

Something I Like and may adapt: This website uses a lot of colours and exquisite drawings. The cursive font may not be an ideal font to be used in websites, but it gave this website an individualistic and cutesy feminine look.
Rating: *****

Sarahhyland Creative dot Red velvet
Typography San-Serif and Serif
4-5 type of fonts
Serif
2-3 type of fonts
San-Serif
3 type of fonts
Color Scheme Warm, informal Warm, Semi-formal Warm, Informal
Layout 3-4 column 2-3 column 3-4 column
Grouping and Hierarchy Yes Yes Yes
Figure and Ground Good Separation Good Separation Good Separation
Composition Rule of Third

Website: No organisation of content, mixed tabs

http://duplos.org/

Something I Like and may adapt: This website uses a lot of speech bubbles as menu and different colours against the black background. It is a simple website, but there are quite a few website that uses this concept and it may not be suitable for my portfolio.
Rating: ***


Website: Simple categories by having four columns.

http://www.craigearl.co.uk/

Something I Like and may adapt: This website uses four images and a short sentence to introduce the photographer and his works. The simple design gives users a clear view of the content of the website and make it easy for navigation and browsing.
Rating: *****

duplos Craigearl
Typography San-Serif
3-4 type of fonts
San-Serif
1-2 type of fonts
Color Scheme Colourful, informal Cool, formal
Layout 2 column 1-4 column
Grouping and Hierarchy Yes Yes
Figure and Ground Good Separation Good Separation
Composition Rule of Third Rule of Third
Author: Tiffany Yong

The ABC Girl (Actor, Blogger, Consultant) in Singapore!

One thought on “1a. Portfolio Website Research

  1. Great Research! Sincerely, Julian

Leave a Reply

